Antonio Gervasoni

Composer & Educator

Photo of Antonio Gervasoni

Antonio Gervasoni has composed over 50 works, including the soundtracks for several feature films. His compositions have been performed all over the world. Read his full bio here.

Antonio Gervasoni at a conference about his music in Barcelona, in April 2019

He has imparted his expertise at the National University of Music, the University of Lima, and the UPC. Additionally, he provides online music lessons. For more information, visit Teaching.

Antonio Gervasoni talking to musicians at a rehearsal of his music for a concert in 2012

Antonio Gervasoni undertakes commissions for concert hall compositions and film soundtracks. He also offers a range of additional musical services. For more information, visit Services.

Latest News

The Dagger

Finally, after more than a year of continuous work, I finished "The Dagger," a two-act chamber opera based on Macbeth. The libretto is a condensed version of the original text, with a reduced cast of 9 characters, 4 of which are taken by singers who participate in other roles, thus requiring only 5 singers. The instrumental ensemble is made up of bass clarinet, cello, percussion and piano. There is also a Spanish version, but it is not a faithful translation, since it had to respect the meter and accentuation of the English text in order to fit with the music. The piece has a total duration of approximately 70 minutes.

Lessonface Recognition for Antonio Gervasoni as Teacher of the Year 2023 in Classical Orchestration

Teacher of the Year 2023

Today I received wonderful news from the folks at Lessonface: I have been named "Teacher of the Year 2023 for Classical Orchestration." The news took me completely by surprise, and I am extremely grateful to all the people who work at Lessonface for this award. Lessonface connects students with great teachers for live online music, language, and arts lessons. I teach composition and orchestration classes at Lessonface, in addition to other subjects. If you would like to learn more about those lessons, click here or visit the Teaching section under Services.

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.” ― Plato