Antonio Gervasoni

Composer & Educator

Photo of Antonio Gervasoni

Antonio Gervasoni has composed over 50 works, including the soundtracks for several feature films. His compositions have been performed all over the world. Read his full bio here.

Antonio Gervasoni at a conference about his music in Barcelona, in April 2019

He has imparted his expertise at the National University of Music, the University of Lima, and the UPC. Additionally, he provides online music lessons. For more information, visit Teaching.

Antonio Gervasoni talking to musicians at a rehearsal of his music for a concert in 2012

Antonio Gervasoni undertakes commissions for concert hall compositions and film soundtracks. He also offers a range of additional musical services. For more information, visit Services.

Latest News

Premiere of Hologramas

Mi piece "Hologramas", an operatic scene for soprano, clarinet and piano, based on a text by renowned Peruvian playwright Maritza Núñez, was premiered at the Hyvinkääsali, a prestigious concert hall located in Hyvinkaa, Finland. Hologramas (Holograms) takes the apparent form of a children's tale, while at the same time revealing the shocking facts about what happens when the most vulnerable suffer the consequences of man's neglect. The piece was performed by Anni Niemelä (soprano), Lauri Vaahtoranta (clarinet) and Jussi Littunen (piano).

The Dagger

After more than a year of continuous work, I finished "The Dagger," a two-act chamber opera based on Macbeth. The libretto is a condensed version of the original text, with a reduced cast of 9 characters, 4 of which are taken by singers who participate in other roles, thus requiring only 5 singers. The instrumental ensemble is made up of bass clarinet, cello, percussion and piano. There's also a Spanish version, but it's not a faithful translation, since it had to respect the meter and accentuation of the English text in order to fit with the music.

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.” ― Plato